Reviews


Reviews
  658

08/14/2017
Epic Glasslines
"I must like EPIC Glasslines as I now have three of them (DT4, DT5, WF6). Here is why I like them: First and foremost, they are made in the USA by Scientific Anglers, a company whose products I have used for over fifty years. The EPIC lines don’t have memory issues, the cast beautifully and lay out straight, and they shoot through the guides. Everything you want in a fly line. The only “negative” (and not a strong one) is that they could be more sensitive. As far as choosing a Weight Forward vs Double Taper, I would offer this: it appears that the taper of the WF and DT lines is the same. Therefore, if your casting is mostly in the under forty foot range, choose the DT. Why? Because a DT line is really two lines for the price of one. If you damage or wear out one end, just turn the line around and you have a new line. This can’t be done with a WF. "
Jack D.
08/14/2017
I love casting this rod
"Just a short note to let you know I have been using my DH13 7-8 Spey Rod now for over 12 months and I have certainly given it a workout (read Hiding). I have taught people that have never cast a Spey Rod, right up to Master Certified Casting Instructors preparing for their Two hand Certification. Several of those now own one and one has now purchased a 5-6 trout Spey as well !!!. I have fished Skagit lines with sink tips swinging flies for trout and on lakes casting Skandi and long belly lines. I regularly fish the rocks and beaches for a variety of salt water species so I have really tested it out. So what is my impression overall. Anyone that owns or has cast one of your rods knows the attention to detail and the quality of your rods they are beautiful. To me they have to be more than that, they are a tool of my trade so they have to perform. A rod has to cast smoothly and effortlessly all day, it has to handle a variety of lines leaders and flies. I have to be able to teach short casts to very long casts. It has to be tough and the 6 pieces makes it easy to travel with. Most importantly it has to be fun to fish. The Epic DH13 7-8 does all of the above with ease. From the first cast you FEEL the progressive action as the rod loads, but it is in the unload where the magic happens. The DH13 7-8 unloads quickly and recovers quickly but without the jarring feeling of some rods allowing you to make nice loops with very little tip bounce. I love casting this rod, I love fishing this rod and I love the smile on peoples faces when they cast it. Thanks Carl to you and the team for producing such an amazing rod. I highly recommend it… Brian Henderson. International Federation Of Fly Fisherman Master Casting Instructor / Certified Two Handed Casting Instructor PS. Had a play with a 5-6 trout Spey last weekend that is another rod I would highly recommend "
Brian Henderson
08/14/2017
Perfectly simple.
"I have used expensive rod lathes over the years but this is a perfectly simple solution that does the job at a great price."
David
08/13/2017
Silk Wrapping Thread
"Hello, I am Jose Mnuel, I have received your threads, white and 220, that I must do to make them transparent, thank you. "
jose m.
08/12/2017
It's A Keeper
"The 690 C was my 3rd Epic build. As always, the blanks and kit components were as represented and high quality. Was especially taken with the cork grip and fighting butt quality which were truly flor grade. However, in the spirit of full disclosure, I should declare that I did not use the grip and fighting butt (built a grip more comfortable to my large hands and also built a matching fighting butt), chose a different color silk for the wraps, and simplified the snake guide train, all of which substitutions and modification were matters of personal preference and not in any way a correction for any kit deficiency. Limited on the water experience together with multple casting sessions to the lawn trout confirm the 690 C is a keeper."
Donald L.
08/11/2017
Super slim medium 24 fly box
"Just a nice size to fill with surf candies and clousers to chase the tuna and queenies"
Anonymous
08/09/2017
Once in a Blue Moon
"I must admit, I was a bit of a late comer to this fantastic DVD, but as always from the Epic/Swift team, it was worth the wait, fantastic stuff."
jason b.
08/08/2017
Cast Like a Hero
"This is the most impressive rod I've ever cast. It's incredibly light and responsive. On big water, this rod really shines. The Epic 690C loves to throw line. There seems to be no limit to the amount of line it can throw. It bends deep- to the cork- which means it unloads with the full power of the dull rod. The same deep bend allows it to present flies at delicately at close distances, too. The old adage that "anything a five weight can do, a six weight can do better" has been hard to believe with the progressive stiffening of graphite rods. In a striking diversion from this momentum, he 690C embodies the notion of what an ideal six weight once was. The incredible light weight of the blank allows for all day casting with no arm fatigue. You can drive this rod to compress loops and sling line for days, but it's beautiful to allow the rod to do the casting for you. Just simply move the rod in the casting arc and watch it work it's magic. I was skeptical of buying a blank without casting it first. The reviews sold me the rod, and I will ad to the glow; the 690C is phenomenal in every sense of the word."
Jack W
08/05/2017
Cast like a hero
"This is the most impressive rod I've ever cast. It's incredibly light and responsive. On big water, this rod really shines. The Epic 690C loves to throw line. There seems to be no limit to the amount of line it can throw. It bends deep- to the cork- which means it unloads with the full power of the dull rod. The same deep bend allows it to present flies at delicately at close distances, too. The old adage that "anything a five weight can do, a six weight can do better" has been hard to believe with the progressive stiffening of graphite rods. In a striking diversion from this momentum, he 690C embodies the notion of what an ideal six weight once was. The incredible light weight of the blank allows for all day casting with no arm fatigue. You can drive this rod to compress loops and sling line for days, but it's beautiful to allow the rod to do the casting for you. Just simply move the rod in the casting arc and watch it work it's magic. I was skeptical of buying a blank without casting it first. The reviews sold me the rod, and I will ad to the glow; the 690C is phenomenal in every sense of the word. "
Jack W.
08/02/2017
fly rod build book
"I am so keen to make my first rod…but really nervous as to what was going to be involved. Having the book to peruse prior to purchasing my first make is genius. It has convinced me that I can do it…. many times over (like i need more rods). I look forward to purchasing the rod kit for my birthday now."
Jeremy S.
07/28/2017
Hard to beat !
"As good as anything out there and extremely good value. Quality in a compact spool !"
Michael L.
07/27/2017
686 FastGlass
"Thanks Epic....this is the most fun flyrod I own and I have many. Perfect for the small redfish on the Texas coast....taking it to Bolivia/Kendjam next month.....love it!!!!"
Joseph T.
07/26/2017
Stroft nylon and super slim fly box
"Purchased the nylon based on the Yellowstone tippet survey that highly rated stroft nylons. I intend to make my own leaders with it this coming season Bought 6 super slim fly boxes last year and they are an ideal size robust and easy to use so I have purchased another 4. The price is excellent and I recommend these for anglers who want to reduce carrying bulky gear."
David M.
07/18/2017
Custom Flyrod Build Book
"I am currently overseas. For some reason, I couldn't access the down load on my iPad but I could on my smart phone. I found it very useful to read up about the build before I got home. Regards Don Wallace "
Don W.
07/17/2017
Epic (s) all the way
"I've been building on the Epic blanks ever since Carl contacted me a few years ago. I was amazed that a rod company would be interested in a small one off custom shop like mine. Well, they do care and the rest is history. I currently have 5 Epic blanks on the bench in various states of construction. The 590C & 690C blow other carbon/ graphite blanks out of the H2O. And I have built on almost every blank out there. But.... I am a Bamboo & glass junkie and I haven't fished glass like Epic glass. Top shelf all the way. As I tell customers Epic glass isn't mushy glass, it's glass with attitude. Pete Renaissance Rods"
Pete E.
07/17/2017
440 fastglass … smooth
"Line loading is really smooth, which makes the whole casting experience really intuitive. And casting distance is great too. Since i am one of those fisherman who is there for the journey (meaning i don’t catch much), oftentimes i feel like i go fishing to enjoy the casting. My wife asks “Did you catch anything? No, but I had a lot of really great casts.""
Richard H.
07/17/2017
I love the rod
"It turned out very well. I love the rod and I know my customer will love it too. "
Chris G.
07/12/2017
Best 9wt
"Fishing rod very well finished, it loads easily, a good compromise in the action of the rod for me.I hope to soon catch a pike with her"
Anonymous
07/10/2017
Magical
"The 686 deserves all the hype you see from people..been chucking streamers with this rod together with galloups "streamer max" 200 grain line. Stupid smooth!"
Daniel L.
07/08/2017
First time build
"As this was my first attempt at building a fly rod I was worried that I would end up with nothing but a sticky pile of carbon fibre and tangled thread. However, by following the step by step instructions in the booklet I was feeling like a pro in no time. Everything in the kit is organised to make it as simple as possible and the instructions are super easy to follow with photos of each step. My rod turned out great (in my eyes anyway) and I would highly recommend the 'ready to wrap kits' to anyone. I look forward to the next one."
Gareth T.
07/04/2017
Casts like a dream; A wonderful fishing tool!
"While the 580 glass rod requires you to be much more patient than a newer carbon fiber rod, it is silky smooth -- think freshly whipped butter or whipped cream -- and is light and true. it handles 18-20" fish with ease and is a pleasure to cast both big and small flies with. I love the rod and can't wait to buy another glass rod from Epic to fish!"
Anonymous
07/01/2017
Epic Hoodie
"Good quality, nice and warm"
Lawrence P.
06/30/2017
So Blue 580 kit
"This is my fifth Epic build. As before all the components are excellent, the finished rod is nicely balanced and rod casts a five weight line beautifully. These rods fish well and are amazingly tough. "
Anonymous
06/27/2017
376 you little beauty !!
"Totally sold on this superb fly rod ,neat tight casts and a joy to fish with perfect for my home streams here in the UK. All you small stream and creek trout fishers check this fantastic fly rod. As for build quality the fittings and finish are superb. Tight lines guys."
Ivor S.
06/27/2017
SO EPIC
"Where homage, performance, style, and quality collide. I am beyond impress and satisfied with my 12wt Boca Grande - EPIC rod. From Mako Sharks to Yellowfin Tuna, this rod has done me well. I recommend this rod to anyone."
Kameron B.
06/26/2017
BEST Video
"I watched a lot of videos for flyfishing, but "casts That Catch Fish" ist simply the best"
Philipp H.
06/24/2017
686 Black special edition
"Great service !! but i havent actually seen it yet cause my lovely wife brought it for my birthday wich is in the middle of next month ! Cant wait cheers Budgie "
michael B.
06/21/2017
WF5F line
"Just received my WF5 line. Love it AND I am glad to see that the Epic folks have added welded loops to the line. The last Epic line I purchased did not have loops. I change leaders often and move lines to different reel and a loop is best for me. Anyone who doesn't like the loops can easily cut them off and use the old fashioned nail knot. Thanks, Jack"
Jack Devlin
06/17/2017
Great aid in rod building
"Read this manual first! If you are building your first rod this is an invaluable resource. If not, still read it and benefit from professional experience and well-written instructions with excellent photos."
Arthur S.
06/17/2017
Outstanding Customer Service
"I ordered the 590C blank and the next day I noticed that they reintroduced the ready to wrap kit. An email later I had the build kit parts and pieces at the price as if I had just purchased the ready to wrap kit. I am in the midst of the build now, and it's going swimmingly. All of the components are spot on and are quality products as well as aesthetically pleasing. Will report back after completion and am looking forward to fishing this rod! Jimmy"
James B.