Reviews


Epic Reviews
  1452

04/13/2019
Beautiful Rod Blank
    "I got the 686 ready to wrap kit. There were plenty of materials to mess up a few wraps (this was my first rod build) and still have leftover once you are done. The book that is included is great, directions are clear and they don’t forget any of the steps. This is also a pretty fast process. Wrap your guides at night after work, and then do your epoxy coats at lunch or right after work and the process took me one week to finish. I also didn’t have a rod drying motor, and turning by hand worked out fine. If you do this, you just have to be close to your rod for a few hours after applying each epoxy coat. "
    Alexander H.
    04/13/2019
    476 - Epic Delivers
      "My whole experience with Swift was amazing. The kit had everything I needed, and more. The components were top notch. The completed rod was sweet. Can't wait to start my next Epic."
      Quinn B.
      04/10/2019
      Best Glass Rods
        "Epic FastGlass rods are the best which I ever had a chance to use. I will never change them for any other glass rods. "
        Michał Z.
        04/08/2019
        4wt - Packlight FastGlass® Fly Rod Kit
          "Great product - easy to build, but quite a learning curve for a novice. After making one, I'd do another in a quarter the time, and with a better wrap finish. But finish this one I did, and it casts beautifully. Note - it's well worth investing in a rod rotator to finish the wraps, and don't wind them too tight!"
          Iain P.
          04/04/2019
          Absolutely Epic Fly Rod
            "First of all I have fly fished for about 35 years and I have a “sickness” when it comes to fly rods. Started with a fiberglass Fenwick and then “moved up” to graphite rods and fished them for 25 years(Winston, LL Bean, Echo, TFO and most everything else). I went back to glass about 5 years ago and don’t know why I ever left!! I love the way glass casts and responds, the feel of a trout or salmon playing. This rod is absolutely amazing!! I lined it with Rio 6# DT Light line and it casts amazing. I always laugh when I see people at fly fishing expos trying fly rods and the first thing everyone does is see how far they can cast. If you’re a decent caster you should be able to load most any fly rod enough to cast much further than you need to catch fish. What I always want to see is how close I can cast and still load the rod to have a good presentation. While this rod will throw the line pretty much to the backing it is excellent at accurately and delicately landing your line at 10 feet and not having your line in a heap or slapping the water wildly. This fly rod is truly Epic! As far as the build, I build 3 or 4 rods every winter as I enjoy building them. This was my first Epic rod and it was a great build. I must say the instruction book Swift has put together is one of the best books on building a fly rod I have ever seen. I highly recommend this rod to anyone who wants a high end top notch fiberglass flyrod! I know I will be building more of these!"
            Mark C.
            03/28/2019
            Swift 1090C blank
              "The blank arrived promptly and in perfect order. Before building I subject all blanks to microscopic examination this blank showed no imperfections and an excellent finish. Top quality."
              Anonymous
              03/22/2019
              A great kit.
                "I love this beautiful Olive 686 I wrapped myself on my kitchen table, warts and all! I, like so many, was initially doubtful about wrapping my own rod and I waited a long time until deciding to go for it. But it is surprisingly simple and everything you need is included in the kit. All components fit perfectly. My first attempt at rodbuilding and a far from perfect result but I couldn’t be happier and I like it a lot better than any factory rod I own. Love the feeling of catching a fish on a glass rod! Feel every headshake, every twitch. Awesome! Will buy another kit that’s for certain. "
                S.Thor
                03/22/2019
                A great kit.
                  "I love this beautiful Olive 686 I wrapped myself on my kitchen table, warts and all! I, like so many, was initially doubtful about wrapping my own rod and I waited a long time until deciding to go for it. But it is surprisingly simple and everything you need is included in the kit. All components fit perfectly. My first attempt at rodbuilding and a far from perfect result but I couldn’t be happier and I like it a lot better than any factory rod I own. Love the feeling of catching a fish on a glass rod! Feel every headshake, every twitch. Awesome! Will buy another kit that’s for certain. "
                  S.Thor
                  03/22/2019
                  A great kit.
                    "I love this beautiful Olive 686 I wrapped myself on my kitchen table, warts and all! I, like so many, was initially doubtful about wrapping my own rod and I waited a long time until deciding to go for it. But it is surprisingly simple and everything you need is included in the kit. My first attempt at rodbuilding and far from a perfect result but I couldn’t be happier. Love the feeling of catching a fish on a glass rod! Feel every headshake, every twitch. Awesome! Will buy another kit that’s for certain. "
                    S.Thor
                    03/22/2019
                    Black Mamba 5wt carbon fibre
                      "Would just like to say that it's probably the lightest rod I have ever had and the fact that it is so well made. Beautiful rod.The black Ross reel fits perfectly. Cant wait to use it. Have not had the opportunity as of yet"
                      Patrick C.
                      03/18/2019
                      Blank purchases
                        "Excellent blanks, quick shipping, and they turn into awesome fishing rods. "
                        Anonymous
                        03/17/2019
                        Unbelievably Good
                          "This is the most amazing fly rod I've ever picked up. It’s light, casts like a dream and the workmanship is absolutely flawless. The whole purchase and build process was wonderfull - top service, thanks guys!"
                          Craig M.
                          03/17/2019
                          Wyatt’s flies
                            "Really well tied. I had been tying mine far too heavy. Great service from Swift arrived in time for English season. "
                            Chris H.
                            03/12/2019
                            Perfect Trout Flies
                              "Bob Wyatt fly patterns are outstanding. I love his flies (almost as much as my family). If you want some very very nice ones, buy these. They are perfect. If not, at least tie a bunch ugly ones yourself. Then stop thinking about anything else than size and presentation when surface fishing. After a while on the water using them you will never be able to imagine any trout refusing your flies again. And soon all your nymphs, wets, streamers will be looking just as your dries..."
                              Örjan G.
                              03/11/2019
                              686 ready to wrap
                                "I bought the 686 ready to wrap kit, after reading the reviews and the many information on the site. This set meets all my expectations. Everything is clearly described step by step in the book. Today I tested the rod for the first time, it felt great not too fast and not too slow just perfect for me. I had been looking for this for a long time."
                                Jan A.
                                03/10/2019
                                Ross Animas 5/6
                                  "Excellent reel - light and with great noise with a fish on! Really good service from Swift (as usual!) - free line was a bonus as it is slick and shoots well, with very little memory."
                                  Stuart D.
                                  03/04/2019
                                  Have not started to build yet But.
                                    "The rod was ordered on Sunday Got a estimated delivery date of Friday. But on Thursday go an email saying the rod would be delivered that morning and at 10:00 the DHL delivered the rod. Maybe it has something to do with the international date line but whatever that was fast service. I have made a lot of rods so I know that glued up cork hands are a pain in the ass to ream and take a lot of masking tap. But as advertised this handle was reamed for a perfect feet so that is 80% of pre-guides work done. Now I have to get it done. "
                                    William K.
                                    03/01/2019
                                    The most fun you can have with your pants on
                                      "Building this rod was so easy, even I could do it. I bought some metallic trim and used the included thread and it came out better than any other "factory" rod that I own. I think the 690c will be next as a gift for my girlfriend. Absolutely worth your time especially with the cost savings involved with building your own. "
                                      Braeden W.
                                      02/27/2019
                                      One epic Epic!
                                        "This is my first time building a fly rod, so while I have a lot of experience USING one, never tried my hand at building one. I was amazed at how thorough the entire process was, guided by a great instruction manual and absolutely top notch materials. I picked the 4wt rod, wanting to expand my set of fly rods toward the lighter end. The build went smoothly and the end result was a very nice rod. I put it to the test last Monday, trying it out on the Rose River for rainbows. On the third cast, I had a 16" rainbow. The rod performed even better than I hoped, with plenty of backbone to handle this really strong trout. If I can figure how to include pictures, I'll edit this review and publish some pictures of these fish and a nicely bent rod with a big rainbow on the other end! Hal "
                                        Hal M.
                                        02/25/2019
                                        Ross Animas Reel
                                          "The reel is fantastic, very smooth and well made. Goes well with my Epic 580."
                                          David R.
                                          02/25/2019
                                          Epic 890C
                                            "This was my first rod build and I'm totally hooked on the entire process. Don't hesitate to try it out. I took the 890C out for a test cast this morning and was blown away! It's light and crisp in the hand with loads of feel for close casts and plenty of reserve power for distance. Super accurate and responsive to changes in my cast. I was able to put the fly on target like a laser. Love at first cast :) I'm really looking forward to dropping flies in front of tailing bonefish this winter with this rod. It will be a great setup for lighter presentations to striped bass on the flats too."
                                            Ben S
                                            02/25/2019
                                            What a rod....
                                              "Probably the coolest blank color I've ever seen. Haven't fished the rod yet but I am pretty dam sure that it casts as nicely as the other rods. Just love it"
                                              Jakob D.
                                              02/25/2019
                                              Super light and fast carbon rod
                                                "I just love these rods especially the corc quality is stunning. Actions is great and it casts amazingly good. Just need to fish it even more :)"
                                                Jakob D.
                                                02/21/2019
                                                Ross Reel Animas 5/6
                                                  "I cant wait to match this reel up with the Epic Rod I have on order. The lightness of the reel is what struck me the most. Perfect engineering. Looking forward to using this combination and to test the drag system. Regards Patrick Counihan"
                                                  Patrick C.
                                                  02/14/2019
                                                  Epic Fly Rod Turner & Drying Motor
                                                    "Excellent product and perfect for the job."
                                                    Tony B.
                                                    02/12/2019
                                                    Amazing piece of art
                                                      "This blank is so amazing I now have to replace all my rods with an epic. This rod is so beautiful I took down my family portraits and hung this rod in its place whenever it's not being fished. It is now my go-to rod."
                                                      Anonymous
                                                      02/10/2019
                                                      686
                                                        "I have this rod in the old three piece configuration but this new improved 4 piece seems a bit lighter and faster. The rod looks stunning in green and workmanship flawless. These are beautiful rods and perform every bit as good as they look.. You can really pull hard on a fish knowing your rod wont explode or your tippet breaking. Trying to decide now on either a 580 or 476. You cannot go wrong with these rods. Sean "
                                                        Sean H.
                                                        02/08/2019
                                                        Perfect Glass
                                                          "This is my 3rd ready to wrap kit. So easy to build a quality ultra well performing rod. Love this one in particular (476). Cannot wait to get the deep bend on nice little creek spotted bass!"
                                                          philip P.
                                                          02/05/2019
                                                          Well Crafted, a pleasure to fish
                                                            "The build quality on the 888 FastGlass is phenomenal. Love the blue blank color and top shelf components. A pleasure to fish, just had to slow down my casting stroke. Have used 3,4wt glass rods on smaller fish but really enjoy fighting the larger Lahontan Cutthroat Trout on my local lake with a glass rod. "
                                                            Craig S.
                                                            02/04/2019
                                                            "Go to" leaders
                                                              "The Stroft 12’ 4X leaders are perfect for my guiding business. They are strong for the diameter and I haven’t found any “dud” leaders that are weak straight out of the packet, unlike other big name brands! The 12’ are long enough to not need extra tippet for big terrestrial dries, and supple enough to turn over nicely. When you do add tippet, both fluro and copolymer knot well with blood or surgeons. Highly recommended!"
                                                              Craig S.

                                                              Join Us