Reviews


Epic Reviews
  1302

07/14/2018
You wont be disappointed
"Like everything these guys do the Epic 890C is flawless. Progressive, plenty of power and super accurate. This was my rod of choice on my recent Belize trip and soon became the favourite fo our guides as well. Keep up the great work Epic"
Greg Inness
07/14/2018
What a great fly rod
"The Epic Bandit is everything a fly rod should be. Service was great and shipped over from New Zealand in about 5 days - I cant get stuff from one coast to the other in that time."
George
07/14/2018
Buy it
"I’ll save you the blurb - it’s great, buy it."
Paul
07/14/2018
DAMN!
"Jus love the new Finnish! (see what I did there!!!)"
Mike H
07/14/2018
Real fly rod blanks
"10th build, and won be the last based on this blank."
Walter P
07/14/2018
Love it
"A great blank and a pleasure to build on cant wait to get it bent"
Albert R
07/14/2018
Customer demanded it!
"Customer cast one and demanded this blank, I can see why"
Antonio
07/14/2018
10 wt bliss
"An Epic 10 - perfect!"
Alfonso K
07/13/2018
686 kit
"So far so good I will post when I am finished Thank you!"
gerard m.
07/12/2018
Premium Quality
"These blanks and the Swift teams are a class act."
Walter P
07/11/2018
Epic Glassline WF #5 wt
"Good line. Scientific angler. Pairs nicely with the rod."
Michael S.
07/11/2018
5wt - 590C Carbon Fibre Ready to Wrap Kit - great to cast
"I recently had a cast of an Epic carbon #5 wt and was impressed enough to order the kit. The rod seemed to cast more smoothly and with way more precision than the rods I have been using. I built the 5wt - 590C Carbon Fibre from the Ready to Wrap Kit from Epic.My first rod build and I think it went quite well. I used an old BBQ Rotisserie motor for the rod dryer and this worked very effectively. I have cast the rod in the park and it feels and performs like the one I tried. Smooth, precise and more consistent tight loops than I have been able to produce previously! The kit has everything needed and Carl's instruction booklet is a winner. If I built it again I would probably want black and white thread instead of the black and natural which came with the kit. A winding check would be nice too, but the thread works fine. The kit came with the bonus #5wt Epic Glassline which seems to suit the blank. Looking forward to the start of the season to try the rod out for real. May even have to return to Wanaka for a fish (fesh?)!"
Michael S.
07/10/2018
Not sure what is better
"The Service from this company is just so good - unheard off anywhere these days and certainly not in any fly shop I’ve been in to. The rod arrived very promptly in 3 days here in the States and is of impeccable quality - cant wait to put a big bend in it!"
Sandy M
07/10/2018
Very nice indeed
"Really nice, light but plenty of power too cut through those Caribbean breezes. -fished very well indeed!"
Nigel White
07/10/2018
I love this fly rod
"What can I say, I love it. That blue is so amazing."
Sall M
07/10/2018
Not disappointed
"How could I be?! - It’s an Epic!"
Warren Hies
07/10/2018
A cut above
"Just a killer blank"
Bruce
07/10/2018
Another great Epic florid blank!
"Epic all the way, quality blanks, quality service from people who know!"
Wayne T
07/07/2018
Where have you been?!
"Here have you been Epic, Im so glad we’ve met, were gona have a great relationship!"
Chris
07/07/2018
Perfectly Smooth, great product
"Smooth progressive taper, the Epic Packlight is a wonderfull fly rod blank!"
Tony R
07/07/2018
Perfect
"What can I say, it’s perfect."
Michael W - WA
07/07/2018
Wonderfull
"This is great drying patch!"
Tommy
07/06/2018
10 for the 10
"You need more stars. It’s stellar. Thanks, Aaron"
AC
07/06/2018
Cant be Faulted
"Like all Epic fly rods the 890C cannot be faulted"
Brad
07/06/2018
Don’t build on anything else
"Powerful and smooth casting 10wt, was a pleasure to build on as usual"
Pier S
07/06/2018
Best fly blanks
"Best blanks full stop."
Walter P
07/04/2018
590c & epic fly line
"Hi Hayley. Just finished my rod build & I must say it went together very well. Just had to take my time with whipping the guide rings.Holding the finished rod alongside my Sage one & giving them a bit of a shake the590c had a lot more flex in the mid section of the rod & I wondered how it would cast. Taking the rod to my local Butchers dam & with just a couple of false casts the fly lands nicely about 40 feet out, very impressed , & can"t wait for the new season. Also I was quite impressed with my new Epic DT line. Very smooth to cast, & at $50 cheaper than my usual lines they are a real bargain.Keep up the great work. Regards Ritchie."
Richard B.
07/03/2018
Silk Thread
"Very nice thread. If you want a wrap that blend with the blank don't look further. Use 212 for clear wraps and other for subtle tone to tone on Epic Fiberglass. This silk thread is very fine, here you go when you want wraps with no bulk (way finer than size A nylon). I use nothing than that for my personal rods (without color preserver). "
Eric M.
07/03/2018
Freight-liner matched to EPIC DH13
"The Freight-liner at 480 grains matched beautifully with my EPIC DH13 7 weight. The combination was a joy to cast."
Alan C.
07/03/2018
EPIC DH13 7130
"I recently received a DH13 7 wt spey rod and finely had a chance to test it on the water for a few hours. My first impression is the quality of the materials and the craftsman ship of the build. The rod is beautiful to look at. On the water I was immediately struck with the lightness of the rod. At 13 feet and 6 piece I expected a little heavier front end but it swings very easily and responds very well with little arm effort. I was able to try a 480 grain skagit with a 160 grain tip and pleased at how little effort was necessary to load and cast the line. I’m not an expert with spey and in no time I was easily able to throw 100 plus feet with ease. Next I tried a 460 grain scandi head with the same results. I bought the rod for a travel trip next February and am very happy that in the tube the DH13 is slightly shorter than a 9 foot 4 piece making it a perfect travel rod. I would give the EPIC DH13 five stars and can’t wait for the chance to feel a fish on the other end."
Alan C.