Reviews


Epic Reviews
  1425

06/26/2018
Another Great Epic Kit
    "The kit is up to the usual Epic standards, which is to say that it's very, very excellent. All of the components are top-notch, and I can't wait to finish the build and start fishing. This is my 5th kit from Epic, so I'm clearly a happy customer. If I could find a justification for more rods, I'd definitely buy another."
    Clayton M.
    06/23/2018
    A surprising blend of delicacy and power
      "I'm very cynical of five star reviews as they almost seem to good to be true but here I am posting a five star review. Yep the rod is that good! I bought the rod to fish heavy tungsten bead head nymphs, small to medium sized streamers and hopefully to do a passable job of fishing smaller dry flies should I come across an opportunity to do so. A kind of comprise take one rod rod. The rod does all this without missing a beat, a long leader and a small dry fly presents well enough at close range (not as nice as the epic Epic 476) and yet hitting the far bank with a tungsten beaded 4 inch streamer isn't taxing. The rod casts fantastically, it's a nice relaxed smooth powerful casting rod. The power just builds as the rod flexes deeper and deeper, it almost seems to have a second gear and that really helps to find the delicacy vs raw power depending upon what is needed on a particular cast. My first kit and order from Swift. Living in Europe I was slightly worried about customs, import duty and delivery times but really I shouldn't have been as it was all very smooth, quick and easy. My only very minor complaints would be 1. The lack of a winding check in the ready to wrap kit. Yes you can use silk as suggested but a winding check looks so much nicer, particularly if you have a silver reel seat and silver winding check rather than black silk with a silver reel seat. 2. I would rather use threadmaster lite than standard threadmaster as supplied with the kit as it's easier to get a better finish with threadmaster lite."
      Andrew
      06/23/2018
      You won’t put it down
        "Like most serous fly anglers I have a bunch or fly rods, most high end and expensive from various manufactures. This is my second Epic and I love it. Smooth, powerful and a ton of reserve power when needed - it’s become my go to streamer rod."
        David R - MA
        06/22/2018
        Build quality
          "Quality Quality Quality. My goodness, I’ll be back for another Epic!"
          Tommy W.
          06/21/2018
          590c & turning motor
            "recieved my 590c kit a few weeks ago. Every thing looks really top class. Even the box it comes in is just so cleverly designed. Have not started to build the rod yet as a couple of weeks in hospital has slowed me down a bit. Assembling the kit has given me some thing to really look forward to & am very excited about that. Have read the instruction booklet & after a couple of times every thing is explained in great detail & understandable to me. Keep up the good work guys & I will post again when the rod is finished. Regards Ritchie Bailey."
            Richard B.
            06/21/2018
            As Expected
              "Yep, another Epic from Epic. Light, easy casting, and perfect finishing. - these guys are batting 100, thanks!"
              Mike Lomabrd
              06/21/2018
              Epic 890C
                "Another great Epic!"
                Alpo Sed
                06/21/2018
                An 8, and its’t great!!!
                  "You can tell these are designed by a fly caster they are such good casting fly blanks"
                  Alberto
                  06/17/2018
                  Epic!
                    "Best rod I own hands down, wouldn’t mind it in another colour outside black, but damn it’s a nice casting fly rod"
                    Danny M.
                    06/17/2018
                    Simply the best
                      "We run a bunch of rods and get all sorts on board - these are the best and the customers say so."
                      Cpt J.
                      06/17/2018
                      Smooth as Silk, poer to urn
                        "690C all the way - with I could hang on to one for myself!"
                        Antonio
                        06/14/2018
                        Does everything!
                          "I use my Bandit just about all the time now, it will cast a 6 to a 12 and is the perfect Kayak fishing rod at 8ft."
                          Brian F.
                          06/14/2018
                          A Revelation
                            "I really thought that nowadays top end rods where pretty much all the same - they are not. I cast a buddies Epic and was really impressed, ordered mine and I can tell you that these rods are standouts. I’m a Certified Casting Instructor and have probably cast every fly rod made in the past 20 years. Carls Epics are a cut above, both in terms of Castabilty but also in quality of construction and comments used. These are true fly fishing sticks, so far removed from stiff stiff grass casting sticks were used to seeing. Well done to Swift."
                            G -.
                            06/14/2018
                            A great addition
                              "Good to see this 10 added to the Epic lineup, as usually great rod and great service from a great company"
                              Dave Sutkliffe
                              06/14/2018
                              Build a nymphing rod please!!!!
                                "Love love love your carbon fibre fly rods - please build a for style nymphing rod!!!"
                                BJS
                                06/14/2018
                                About time
                                  "Been waiting for this and was not dissipated, thanks guys another great Epic!"
                                  Amanda P
                                  06/14/2018
                                  You can tell!
                                    "Magic"
                                    Shane B
                                    06/14/2018
                                    10 wt
                                      "Epic just got better"
                                      Tony
                                      06/13/2018
                                      Bad Ass Bandido!
                                        "Been beating up Snook, small Poon and the odd Red on the Bandit - it does it all and really takes the fight to em - love it."
                                        Andrew C.
                                        06/11/2018
                                        I’m in Love
                                          "I have a new love - my Epic Bandit!"
                                          Tony S.
                                          06/10/2018
                                          What a great team and product!
                                            "Just got the new Fastglass2 for my veteran build and I love it!! Thanks again for all the support and providing a great product! "
                                            William S.
                                            06/07/2018
                                            DH13 two handed spey rod kit
                                              "I recently purchased a DH13 two handed spey rod kit and have now assembled it. Assembly was straightforward and easy and I am looking forward to fishing with it."
                                              Anonymous
                                              06/07/2018
                                              Epic’er
                                                "Fell in love with the 476 and wanted another so went with the Packlight - it’s just so much fun too fish and cast. As usually the build quality is unmatched - the cork is perfect!"
                                                Toby M.
                                                06/05/2018
                                                DH13 Two Handed Spey Rod Kit
                                                  "Customer love it. Not only the action is nice and smooth, but portability is great. Carrying extra long rod case always been an issue for traveling."
                                                  Anonymous
                                                  06/04/2018
                                                  It
                                                    "It's not the most exciting item to review as it's a rod turner and does exactly what you'd imagine, it holds a rod firmly and turns. Having said that it does it well at an inexpensive price which is a good combination. "
                                                    Andrew
                                                    06/04/2018
                                                    Bandit 10 wt Wrap Rod kit
                                                      "Delivered to UK fine, delay for customs charges (which were substantial), well packaged and components look high quality. Dry fit for cork handle and reel seat v good. Had to file slight concave in fighting butt to accommodate trim ring to sit flush. Not started glueing yet. Glue and epoxy varnish good quality as have used this brand before on my 2 previous rod builds. Would have preferred to use a winding check but can source easily. Not so easy to get hold of de-natured alcohol (not the purple Meths on sale here) but think I have found a source - recommended to use to dilute epoxy finish in excellent instructions. Will report when build finished, hoping to use Tiger fishing in Zambia although may not be optimum time for catching on the fly in Aug. Great product, v. grateful for my win of a prize draw which gave generous reduction off price. Thanks v much - Paul Brown, Bristol UK "
                                                      Paul B.
                                                      06/03/2018
                                                      Packlight Perfection
                                                        "Everything I expected and more - so smooooth"
                                                        Greg
                                                        06/02/2018
                                                        Wowseerr
                                                          "Epic 686. 10 out of 10 for me!"
                                                          Chris
                                                          06/01/2018
                                                          Streamer wallet
                                                            "I love my new streamer wallet, it’s a bit of genuine old school quality in a synthetic age. If Indiana Jones fished streamers he’d probably keep them in one of these."
                                                            Alex P.
                                                            06/01/2018
                                                            Goodbye Sage
                                                              "OK - Im that “Sage Guy” or at least I was until my Epic 690C arrived and I cast it against my Sage X. I really don’t know how you did it but is just a much nicer casting rod, the finish work, wraps and most definitely the cork put my overpriced Sage to shame. Sages are going on Graiglist so I can get more Epics!"
                                                              Chris C.

                                                              Join Us

                                                              Net Orders Checkout

                                                              Item Price Qty Total
                                                              Subtotal $ 0.00 USD
                                                              Shipping
                                                              Total

                                                              Shipping Address

                                                              Shipping Methods