Reviews


Epic Reviews
  1241

10/20/2018
10 wt bandit
"I just built the rod and have not used it yet, but as always the quality of the components is superb! I love your rods and the ones I have built before have been excellent when fishing "
Anonymous
10/14/2018
My Fantastic Ross 5/6 Fly Reel
"This is the best of the best. A fantastic reel , Fantastic service. I am so , so happy with Swift and their follow up and products. Eddie Roberts.Western Australia"
Edward R.
10/14/2018
580 Epic: Lives up to the name
"A truly great feeling fast action glass rod that has plenty behind it to shoot accurately, but delicate enough to make the ideal presentation. Really impressed with this blank, especially the precision and craftsmanship. The attention to detail is clear, and has made me a believer in what Carl McNeil is doing with these rods"
Joshua K.
10/13/2018
Second rod
"This is my second kit, and it like the first one, impeccable, arrived on time.The building process is as always straight forward, all is included, no fear of running low on the epoxy or rod finisher as there is naught to build 4 rods in each kits! Already looking into getting two more in the near future!"
Norbert R.
10/13/2018
Epic bandit
"Je vais utiliser ma bandit pour la premiere fois, la semaine prochaine chez, Norbert renaud, je vous donnerai mes impressions lors de ce voyage "
Michel P.
10/11/2018
686 fastglass
"It is an excellent fly rod and I love the workmanship that has gone into making it,Its very easy to use and lays out a nice cast, the only thing I was disappointed with was that it didn’t have a keeper eye just above the handle to hook your fly into when not fishing ."
Peter V.
10/08/2018
The best glass fiber i never used
"I'm tested my Boca Grande with a big Arapima Flyfishing is awesome Many thanks "
Anonymous
10/07/2018
Epic Glassline Weight Forward
"Exceptional. Had it out on the Cardrona in the weekend in small water it was very accurate and presented perfectly. "
Michael W.
10/07/2018
Amazing combination of feel, power, and accuracy for small streams!
"A trip to a heavily-wooded creek with a rod that was about two feet too long was convincing enough to look for something a little smaller and lighter. Being a fan of glass rods, it was a “no brainer:” The 370 is incredibly light but strong enough to get the job done on some of those brown and brook trout holding in creek structures. Whether roll casting, overhead casting, and with just a little fly line hanging out of the tip top, this rod performs flawlessly in those sort of situations. Not to mention the color and “snake belly” finish adding to the visual appeal. "
J. Nicholl
10/07/2018
The 580 continues to be the workhorse...and for good reason
"When customers ask my opinion on which rod to choose, the best advice is to buy the highest quality rod that will allow them to do what they want to do, the most often. The majority of the time, that’s trout fishing and I steer them towards the 580. It has delicacy for dries, power for small streamers, and the ability to work small nymphing rigs. Not to mention, the backbone to handle trout with ease....and then some. The new blank, somehow, improved upon the last one and it’s a dream to build-up and fish. Extremely versatile and smooth! "
Joseph N.
10/06/2018
Boca Grande - Master Blaster
"Built a few Epic rods now, and have to say this might be my fav. The components are all top shelf, from the double up locking rings on the reel seat to the additional stripping guides and larger fighting butt. I have no doubt this rod will handle anything I chase with it."
Richard G.
10/05/2018
Outstanding performance
"I’ve long been a fan of the Fast Glass rods and have pretty much exclusively fished the 480-3 on local trout streams for the last eighteen months or so. Earlier this year I had the opportunity to cast two of the carbon rods, the 690C and 7130C DH. With an Alaskan rainbow trip around the corner I decided to invest in the 8wt. I was not disappointed: it threw 540-570 grain Skagit lines with 10’ T-14 tips and medium-sized weighted streamers with ease and was a joy to cast a Scandi line on too. I’m still relatively new to spey casting and I haven’t tried all that many DH rods so it’s difficult to describe the action other than that it feels considerably faster in the tip, yet you still feel the rod load all the way down and it has a ton of backbone when you need it. Not only is it incredibly compact, making it a breeze to travel with, but it is also surprising light, perfect for long days on the river. In short, I’ll be hard pressed to find a reason to take my other ‘big rod’ out anytime soon. Fingers crossed an opportunity will arise to treat myself to the 6wt."
David K.
10/05/2018
EPIC Bandit 1080 ready to wrap kit
"I was tried out the Swift Epic Bandit “ready to wrap kit”. The concept behind Swift Flyfishing Company and the Epic rods is absolute great with a big focus of performance and customer satisfaction. The ordering was very simple and the shipping was transparent due to continually information by Swift. I like that! The kit content was really great! Just with very good components like e.g. APLS Titanium Stripper guides, Reel seat (I think it`s an ALPS as well) Rod Dancer glue kit and high grade cork grip. No additional efforts in terms of drilling the grip or rework at the guides. All components was fitted very well and it was really easy to assembly it together. The delivered silk 212 from was very good to create the wonderful looking “ghost wraps”. In this case I fluxed the high quality Rod Dancer treatmaster a bit with acetone for better wrap impregnating to get an absolute crystal clear picture for the first step. The second step was without acetone and the ghost wraps was top! Finally let me say: Great concept with an high demand in terms of performance and design (as I`ve mentioned before ;-)) Now I`ll go fishing / testing the rod on the water… "
Adrian H.
10/04/2018
Bloody Ripper!
"Holy Moly, what a cracking rod! I have a number of high-end fly rods and the Epic 590C has become my number one by far. In fact, I would suggest that this is the nicest 5 weight rod EVER. It's light, responsive, accurate enough for those pin-point dry fly presentations, yet powerful enough to blast out line to beat all your mates to the rise. The building process, while a new experience for a muppet like me, was straight forward. The instructions were easy to digest and full of detail, enabling an enjoyable experience. The first trout on this rod was a blast and each once since, has been a delight to play out. If you have any desire for a new 5 weight rod, stick that Carbon in your cart, 'cause this one is a bloody ripper. "
Brendan Turriff
10/02/2018
Ready to wrap!
"Quick service and delivery. Kit was excellent and contained everything I needed. Haven't finished building the rod, but looking forward to getting onto the water with it."
Anonymous
10/01/2018
Boca Grande in the Marsh
"I fished this rod for 5 days in Louisiana catching big black drum and redfish. Perfect rod for that scenario. The rod loads short, and can make quick flip casts on the 20-30 foot "whackamole" approach often needed in the marsh. Being a 12 wt, you have the backbone to turn a big black drum, but it is still fun when a slot red beats a drum to the fly. Great rod!"
John B.
10/01/2018
Fly Rod inscription
"This is the second time I've had an inscription done on a Swift rod. I love the personal touch and it makes what is already a fun rod just a little more fun! "
John B.
09/24/2018
6wt - 686 FastGlass® Fly Rod Kit
"I have been impressed with the quality and professionalism of Swiftflyfishing and with the quality of the rod kit I purchased. The components included in the kit are exactly as described and I'm looking forward to a break from working so I can get this rod wrapped and into action. My anticipation has been elevated having held and swung the blank. Just need clients to leave me alone. "
Colin H.
09/21/2018
Glass Act
"My 4wt - 476 FastGlass Fly Rod Kit has provided me with the materials to make a high class fly rod with a low stress process. All parts are so well integrated to the making of the rod the enjoyment of the build has been great. Ray"
Raymond M.
09/21/2018
EPIC 1090C
"One of the great high performers in 10wt market. Incredibly light, feels like a 6weight, and powerful. "
Jon L.
09/19/2018
Ross Evolution LTX 5/6 Black
"This is the second Ross Evo LTX reel I have purchased from Swift in the past month. I bought the 4/5 for my small stream 4 wt rod and I was so impressed I also bought a 5/6 for my everyday 5 wt rod. As for Swift, they are a great company to deal with. Their on-line service is exemplary. "
Bevan J.
09/14/2018
Patrice michel
"Ma bandit est presque terminée, plus qu une couche d epoxie, avant de profiter de mon bijou "
Michel P.
09/11/2018
Yet more perfection
"Received my 686-4 blank which will take me up to 4 Epics for personal use. Another flawless example of their work. Simply, they are superb!"
Chris d.
09/10/2018
Like Butter!
"This rod is pure buttery joy, everything you’d expect when using glass. The extra punch of the fast glass is what makes the difference for me, making the rod more usable in a wider variety of conditions. Great work, Swift - truly and Epic rod."
Ryan M.
09/10/2018
Super Smooth and Perfect Size
"I love the color, quality, and components of this super smooth little rod. Best of all it's the perfect length broken down into 5 pieces for backpacking in Colorado. I've already caught many fish from 5 to 20 inches on the rod and I love how fun it is to fish! Great balance between small-stream, small-fly technical, but enough backbone to cast hoppers and land large fish. "
Craig B.
09/07/2018
Blue 888
"Picked one of these up to keep my Salsa 888 company, and it hasn’t disappointed. Feels a bit more balanced to me than the older 888, and still casts like a dream! Buttery smooth and great touch for sight-casting yet fast enough to handle the Hawaiian trade winds. Just slayed my first o’io (Hawaiian for Bonefish) on the rod this morning and found that, like the older Salsa, it’s got impressive lifting power for a glass rod. Doesn’t get much better than this... 5 stars! "
Anonymous
09/02/2018
Cotton rod sock
"Absolute biautiful product to protect your rods from being scratched or damaged. Will get one for every rod for my Clients"
Sven B.
09/01/2018
Two Thumbs Up Ross Reels and Epic,
"It is my first Ross reel and everything I have read about the Evolution LTX is true. Superbly built reel, smooth powerful drag, aesthetically pleasing. Epic's customer service is first rate. As good as it gets. "
Bevan James
08/29/2018
So much better than Echo!!
"I saw the early Epic 990, and then the Echo BAG which is really is a cheap Epic knockoff. Stupidly bought the Echo, terrible build quality, heavy and the guides aren’t even straight. This season I got the new Epic 888 in that sexy Electric Blue and boy am I blown away. Not only does it cast like a machine the build quality on this thing is out of this world. Echo you really suck by comparison, but I suppose you get what you pay for. Go Epic!"
Billy
08/28/2018
Great gear
"Couldnt ask for a better. Great selection of tips"
jason r.