Reviews


Epic Reviews
  1302

06/14/2018
Build a nymphing rod please!!!!
"Love love love your carbon fibre fly rods - please build a for style nymphing rod!!!"
BJS
06/13/2018
Bad Ass Bandido!
"Been beating up Snook, small Poon and the odd Red on the Bandit - it does it all and really takes the fight to em - love it."
Andrew Corr
06/11/2018
I’m in Love
"I have a new love - my Epic Bandit!"
Tony S
06/10/2018
What a great team and product!
"Just got the new Fastglass2 for my veteran build and I love it!! Thanks again for all the support and providing a great product! "
William S.
06/07/2018
DH13 two handed spey rod kit
"I recently purchased a DH13 two handed spey rod kit and have now assembled it. Assembly was straightforward and easy and I am looking forward to fishing with it."
Anonymous
06/07/2018
Epic’er
"Fell in love with the 476 and wanted another so went with the Packlight - it’s just so much fun too fish and cast. As usually the build quality is unmatched - the cork is perfect!"
Toby M - MA
06/05/2018
DH13 Two Handed Spey Rod Kit
"Customer love it. Not only the action is nice and smooth, but portability is great. Carrying extra long rod case always been an issue for traveling."
Anonymous
06/04/2018
It
"It's not the most exciting item to review as it's a rod turner and does exactly what you'd imagine, it holds a rod firmly and turns. Having said that it does it well at an inexpensive price which is a good combination. "
Andrew
06/04/2018
Bandit 10 wt Wrap Rod kit
"Delivered to UK fine, delay for customs charges (which were substantial), well packaged and components look high quality. Dry fit for cork handle and reel seat v good. Had to file slight concave in fighting butt to accommodate trim ring to sit flush. Not started glueing yet. Glue and epoxy varnish good quality as have used this brand before on my 2 previous rod builds. Would have preferred to use a winding check but can source easily. Not so easy to get hold of de-natured alcohol (not the purple Meths on sale here) but think I have found a source - recommended to use to dilute epoxy finish in excellent instructions. Will report when build finished, hoping to use Tiger fishing in Zambia although may not be optimum time for catching on the fly in Aug. Great product, v. grateful for my win of a prize draw which gave generous reduction off price. Thanks v much - Paul Brown, Bristol UK "
Paul B.
06/03/2018
Packlight Perfection
"Everything I expected and more - so smooooth"
Greg
06/02/2018
Wowseerr
"Epic 686. 10 out of 10 for me!"
Chris
06/01/2018
Streamer wallet
"I love my new streamer wallet, it’s a bit of genuine old school quality in a synthetic age. If Indiana Jones fished streamers he’d probably keep them in one of these."
Alex P.
06/01/2018
Goodbye Sage
"OK - Im that “Sage Guy” or at least I was until my Epic 690C arrived and I cast it against my Sage X. I really don’t know how you did it but is just a much nicer casting rod, the finish work, wraps and most definitely the cork put my overpriced Sage to shame. Sages are going on Graiglist so I can get more Epics!"
Chris C
06/01/2018
More Epic Goodness
"Another beautiful Epic to my quiver. Great rods to cast and fish!"
Dave D
06/01/2018
Again
"Another great Epic, keep em comin y’all!"
Peter Branbury
06/01/2018
I sold my Scott to get this rod
"I f you are a Scott user you need to sit down, take account. I was a Scott user for years, and by comparison to this Epic 690C by Radian was junk, so much so I went out and sold it to buy this rod. The Epic is lighter, it also has a lower swing-weight, the guides are better, the wraps are 10 x’s better, the reel seat blows the Scott away, the blank is more beautiful and the wraps on the Epic make the Scott look decidedly amateur. BUT MOST OF ALL. The Epic outcasts the Scott by a country mile, that is to say the Epic 690C is pure fly casting pleasure, it’s so smooth and so effortless by comparison to the Scott that I thought was so good. By comparison after casting the Epic my Radian felt like it had a cinderblock at the tip. We’re all buying into the Sage Scott marketing hype when the guys that are actually making the best fly rods are Epic down in New Zealand. Needless to say, after this experience I sold my Scott to purchase the Epic, and today I'm doing that again! Keep it up Epic!!"
Brandon Hawthy
06/01/2018
They’ve done it again
"Without exception every Epic I i’ve cast is phenomenal in the hand, the new 890C is no exception, it’s now my perfect Seatrout rod too!"
Timothy B
06/01/2018
Consistently great fly rods
"Always good, this one is great and they needed a 10 in their lineup, perfect."
Randy Grant
06/01/2018
Simple the best fly rod blank ever made
"These are the best casting blanks anywhere. Nothing comes close to these epics. I have no reservation recommending them to anyone."
Huck
06/01/2018
At last!!!
"Wanted it, now it’s here and its as expected, perfect."
Douglas M
06/01/2018
Best best best
"Ive been building on Mudhole blanks - they don’t cast anything like these! Glad I found Epic"
Alfonso K
05/29/2018
Amazing quality and Terrific Service
"My goodness, when my new Blue 888 arrived I could not believe how beautiful it was. The craftsmanship is so much better than any rod I’ve ever seen!!! The 888 is smooth loading, a dream to cast and has a ton of power - I’m yet to land a really big Pike on it but can’t wait!"
Craig Smith
05/27/2018
Stroft ABR Tippet
"I'm very impressed with this tippet - it would have to be the strongest I've used. Performed as I had hoped on a recent spawn-run trip."
Rory G.
05/25/2018
Lunar AC2 reel
"The reel cane well packaged with instructions which were simple to understand. The reel mates well with all the fly rods to which I have introduced it. The reel is attractive and functions perfectly and feels natural and pleasing. Well done. "
JAY G.
05/25/2018
I love my epic fly rods!
"I recently started buying and building Epic Blanks. I started like everyone else by purchasing my favorite size and got an 888. Then I bought another a month later, currently building the Boca, and getting ready to order a bandit. These fiberglass rods are unmatched in strength and action. I use them solely in saltwater and they are always ready to handle a tarpon, bonefish, permit, and giant tarpon or jack. They are beautiful, strong, and paired with matching customer service. Buy an Epic rod and fall you will fall in love with the product and the people. Nick Moscon Salt and Stream Customs Fayetteville, AR"
NIck M.
05/25/2018
Thanks for you follow up and great service
"My overall experience from researching, ordering, and receiving a personalised 590C was brilliant - exceptional quality at every level and I can't wait to land my first fish with it. Thank you"
Tony S.
05/23/2018
590c
"Awesome customer service, even better product "
Rhys H.
05/23/2018
Dead sexy well made rod
"Beautifully finished rod, and matches the Lunar reel oh so well. Partnered with an appropriate 5 wgt line, the rod casts a beautiful line. "
John N.
05/22/2018
4 piece 4 wt
"a joy to hold a magic wand to cast!"
Anonymous
05/22/2018
Great thread!!!
"This silk thread wraps easily and comes in some great colors. I’ve used the natural, blue, dark green and charteuse. The natural can be completely clear if you desire. The other colors look great translucent, or they also respond very well to color preserver. I’ve built a couple rods using the rod building kits and would use this silk thread for future builds as well"
Charles J.